HE LIVES

I woke up this morning, looked out my bedroom window, and saw that the lake was so still., not a ripple on it.   The water reflected all the trees and buildings, but what stood out was the cross on the island.  The first thought that came to my mind was what a terribly sad day it was the morning Jesus was taken to Golgotha to be crucified.  His mother, His (half) brothers and sisters and his disciples, along with His followers must have been overwhelmed with grief.  I really can’t even imagine the scene.  Then the old hymn that I sang when I was young came to mind. Blessed Redeemer.  I began to sing it to myself.  It made me weep, not with sadness but with thanksgiving to my Father for His precious gift, His Son.   

Up Calvary’s mountain one dreadful morn
Walked Christ my Savior, weary and worn
Facing for sinners, death on the cross
That He might save them from endless loss

Father, forgive them, my Savior prayed
Even while His lifeblood flowed fast away
Praying for sinners while in such woe
No one but Jesus ever loved so

Oh, how I love Him, Savior and Friend
How can my praises ever find end?
Through years unnumbered on heaven’s shore
My songs shall praise Him forever more

Blessed Redeemer, precious Redeemer
Seems now I see Him on Calvary’s tree
Wounded and bleeding, for sinners pleading
Blind and unheeding, dying for me

Then, I thought about the old hymn, He Arose, Hallelujah, Christ arose.  He didn’t stay in the grave.  He rose triumphant over death, hell and the grave.  My hope is built on nothing less than Jesus’ blood and righteousness. On Christ the solid Rock I stand; all other ground is sinking sand.  Because of His sacrifice, I can face tomorrow. 

My friend, He didn’t just die for our sins, He lives today to make intercession for us, His children.  “Wherefore also he is able to save to the uttermost them that draw near unto God through him, seeing he ever liveth to make intercession for them.” Hebrews 7:25

Jesus isn’t a baby in a manger, He isn’t on the cross, His isn’t in the tomb, He is seated at the right hand of the Father.   When no one else is praying for you, Jesus is.  This has been a comfort to me for so many years. 

He lives!!!  Draw near to God through Jesus….He loves you. 

Leave a comment