OUR SOVEREIGN HEAVENLY FATHER

I read a statement this morning in my devotion (New Morning Mercies) that said, “I never arrive on scene first.”  Just think!  As believers, we never go where our gracious heavenly Father isn’t there already.  God told Isaiah that He would go before him and make the crooked places straight. (Isaiah 45:2) I believe we can know that our God never leaves us but is already where we are headed. 

       If we truly believe that our God is sovereign, completely in control of every situation in our lives, then we can, by faith, know that He goes before us!  We are not left to ourselves. 

       We don’t have to let fear live and rule in our hearts.  Even though there are trials, temptations, dangers, and enemies that we can’t control, we serve a God who is more powerful than us.  The ‘Good News’ is that we haven’t been left to ourselves. Emmanuel (God with us) is with us in sovereign authority and powerful grace.

       My granddaughter, Kadie, and I sang a song that said, He’s got everything under control. The stars and planets are in His hand. The wind and the rain are at His command.  You and I are part of His plan.  He, our Father, has everything under His control. No matter what situation we step into, He is there.  He rules in wisdom and power.  We can never move outside His authority. He is never surprised by what we are facing, have faced or will face in the future. 

       Paul Tripp, the writer of my devotional book, says, “God is never surprised by where I end up or by what I am facing. He never leaves me to the limited resources of my own wisdom, strength, and righteousness.  He never grows weary with protecting and providing for me. He will never abandon me out of frustration.”   Hallelujah! What a Savior! 

       My dear friend, we can trust a Father like this. 

Leave a comment