PROMISES FROM GOD’S WORD

         As I was lying in bed the other night my mind drifted back to the many promises that I have ‘stood’ on since being redeemed, saved, rescued and forgiven in 1974.

         The very first promise is found in Philippians 1:6, “There has never been the slightest doubt in my mind that the God who started this great work in you would keep at it and bring it to a flourishing finish on the very day Christ Jesus appears.”  Now, the way I memorized it was from the KJV, “Being confident of this very thing, that he which hath begun a good work in you will perform it until the day of Jesus Christ:” He’s working on me every day.  He is conforming me to the image of His dear Son.  I may not like the path He takes, but I know it’s because of His love for me that He does what He does.

         I believe that devastation draws us to the promises of God.  This next promise ‘held me together’ during some rough times in our marriage.  I am so thankful that the Lord directed me to these precious promises.  Surely, He is a buckler (shield, protector, defense) to His children. 

 “As for God, his way is perfect:

the word of the LORD is tried:

he is a buckler to all those that trust in him.

For who is God save the LORD?

or who is a rock save our God?

It is God that girdeth me with strength,

and maketh my way perfect.

He maketh my feet like hinds’ feet,

and setteth me upon my high places. (18:30-33)

         Driving across a bridge in Asheville, NC in the late 80s, I looked up to the Smoky Mountains and remembered God’s promise in Psalm 121;

 “I will lift up mine eyes unto the hills,

from whence cometh my help.

My help cometh from the LORD,

which made heaven and earth.

He will not suffer thy foot to be moved:

he that keepeth thee will not slumber.

Behold, he that keepeth Israel

shall neither slumber nor sleep.

The LORD is thy keeper:

the LORD is thy shade upon thy right hand.

The sun shall not smite thee by day,

nor the moon by night.

The LORD shall preserve thee from all evil:

he shall preserve thy soul.

The LORD shall preserve thy going out and thy coming in

from this time forth, and even for evermore.”

Where does our help come from?  From the Creator of this universe, our Heavenly Father.  Just think, He never slumbers (from drowsiness, sleep) or sleeps (die, grow old or stale).  Just put your name where Israel is in verse 4, because this promise is for us, as well.  We serve a God who is faithful and true.  What He promises, He will accomplish. 

         So, let me encourage you to find some promises to hang on to in every situation of life.  You will need these!  You can trust Him who is faithful. 

Leave a comment