IMPACTFUL BOOKS IN MY LIFE

       I was thinking about the books I’ve read through my Christian journey.  The first book that came to mind was The Godly Woman by Irma Warr.  I can remember sitting in my chair in the corner of my bedroom in Zachary, Louisiana while reading this each morning.  It greatly impacted my life, so I decided to start a young married ladies’ class and teach it.  I was very young at the time, myself, but I knew this book would be a great help to the precious young wives and mothers in our church.  After all, we all needed help and direction in this life journey we were on.

       I believe the second book that was a huge impact in my life was Hind’s Feet on High Places by Hannah Hurnard.  This book sat on my shelf for five years before I read it.  It is an allegory about Much Afraid who was part of the Fearing Family.  Much Afraid was engaged to Craven Fear and was desperate to follow the Good Shepherd and be freed from all her fears and disabilities.  I knew this was what I needed at this time in my life.  I believe I’ve read it five times through the years. 

       Gene Edwards has written many books and is one of my favorite writers.  His Chronicles of the Door (Jesus is the Door) is a must read, even for young children.  The Beginning is about the Garden of Eden; The Escape is the journey from Egypt; The Birth is the story of Christ and His entrance into this world and The Triumph, which is my favorite, is Christ death and resurrection.  I almost stood on my chair and shouted many times while reading this book.  Gene makes the angelic realm come alive.  I felt like I got to know Michael, the warring Archangel, and many of the angelic hosts.

       When Paul and I started Bible school in Hendersonville, NC in 1989, I read Gene Edwards book A Tale of Three Kings.  Every Christian leader should read this book.  I picked it up a few months ago and read through it again.  It is a powerful book about brokenness using the lives of David, King Saul and Absalom. 

Come Before Winter and Growing Strong in the Seasons of Life are two of my favorite devotional books.  I read through them many times in the 80s.  Chuck Swindoll is a wonderful author and Bible teacher.  Strike the Original Match is another of his books that helped shape my Christian life.  Yes, I still read them today.

I was walking through a Christian Book Store in Asheville, NC when I spotted a book on sale.  It looked like a book I needed, so I purchased it.  What a treasure!  Trusting God by Jerry Bridges helped me understand, more fully, the promises of God when I was going through one of the hardest times of my life.  The most impactful promise during this time was Lamentations 3:37-38, “Who is there who speaks and it comes to pass,

Unless the Lord has authorized and commanded it?

Is it not from the mouth of the Most High

That both adversity (misfortune) and good     (prosperity, happiness) proceed?”  Amp. Bible.  This assured me that nothing can be done unless the Lord permits, directs or allows it.  After all, we serve a sovereign God. 

I believe I’ve read The Divine Intruder by James Edwards at least 4 times.  I so identify with his exposition of Jonah.  Really, all the stories are great, but Jonah was the one that ‘hit me between the eyes’, or should I say, ‘smote my heart’.  This book reminds me that it was God who divinely intruded into my life many years ago.  And it’s God who divinely intruded into your life.  He is the Divine Intruder. 

I’m sure I will remember many other books, but for now, this will give you a few to start devouring! 

Leave a comment