HEAVEN, OUR ETERNAL HOME

“Let not your hearts be troubled. Believe in God; believe also in me. In my Father’s house are many rooms. If it were not so, would I have told you that I go to prepare a place for you? And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come again and will take you to myself, that where I am you may be also. And you know the way to where I am going.” John 14:1-4

Heaven… our eternal home.  A place where we will spend ETERNITY! That means forever!  A place that’s being prepared for us. Jesus said He would come back and take us to where He is.  This is a promise!  This is our hope! 

     Life here on this earth is very short.  I don’t care if we live to be 120, life is short compared to eternity.  God’s Word tell us that life is like vapor that appears for a moment, then it’s gone. It’s like my flowers that bloom one day… dead the next day. As I’ve grown older this has really hit home.  It seems like yesterday that Paul and I were married, yet we are celebrating our 57th anniversary this year.   How did time pass so swiftly?  One day at a time, that’s how!  

     Heaven is being quickly populated by friends and family.  They are already enjoying their reward for being faithful.  They understand completely what we only see through a glass darkly (1 Cor. 13:12).  We can only imagine.  That’s why I like to sing songs like I’ll Fly Away, Heaven’s Sounding Sweeter All the Time, How Beautiful Heaven Must Be, Where the Roses Never Fade and When We All Get to Heaven.   I’ve heard preachers say, “Well, you should sing and rejoice down here not wait till you get up there.”  I do!  However, I’m also excited about my heavenly home and want to constantly remember that this is where I’m going to spend eternity!!  I’m repeating this a few times so that you can fully understand this truth.

 This doesn’t mean that I don’t want to live as long as I can and enjoy my family and friends.  This doesn’t mean that I’m not concerned about what God is doing on this earth and want to be a part of building His kingdom.  It’s the fact that I know there’s a better place where I’m going to spend eternity, and believe me, it will come faster than I (or you) think.

I can’t remember the last time I heard preachers talk about heaven.  You’d almost think that it isn’t real, that it’s just a fantasy.  It amazes me. I wonder how many new Christians, as well as those who have been redeemed for years, really know anything about their forever home. Why is this??

Dottie Rambo wrote a song I love to sing; The Holy Hills of Heaven Call Me….Yes, someday we will leave this world behind.  These bars of bone that keep us bound to this earth, in this spacesuit we call our body, will burst wide open and set us free from this world. 

This house of flesh is but a prison
Bars of bone hold my soul
But the doors of clay are gonna burst wide open
When the angel sets my spirit free

I’ll take my flight like a mighty eagle
When the hills of home start calling me.

It’s appointed unto man once to die!  But death is swallowed up in victory.  The grave will not hold us.  So, if you are a citizen of heaven, rejoice.  Start reading about heaven. Talking and singing about heaven doesn’t mean you can enjoy your life today.  God has put it in man to love life, BUT He has also set eternity in our hearts.

There is coming a day, when no heartache shall come, no more clouds in the skies, no more tears to dim the eyes, all is peace forever more on that happy golden shore, what a day glorious day that will be. 

What a day that will be, when my Jesus I shall see, when I look upon His face, the One who saved me by His grace. When He takes me by the hand and leads me to that promised land, what a day glorious day that will be.

     “For we know that the whole creation groaneth and travaileth in pain together until now. And not only they, but ourselves also, which have the firstfruits of the Spirit, even we ourselves groan within ourselves, waiting for the adoption, to wit, the redemption of our body.” Romans 8:22-23

Leave a comment