I CAN SEE CLEARLY NOW

       I’ve worn glasses for years.  As I got older, it seemed my eyes were better and I didn’t need glasses, even for reading.  But, in the last year or two, I have needed glasses to sharpen my vision. 

When I had my eyes checked, I told the ophthalmologist that my right eye was giving me trouble.  I couldn’t see as well as I used to even with glasses.  There was a shadow that I could see (worse since covid), so I needed to get new glasses.  She informed me that it wasn’t my glasses that needed changing but my lens in my eye.  She said it’s like a dirty windshield.  So, I made an appointment to get my right eye lens changed.  I was sure I didn’t need the left one changed as I could see very well out of that one eye.  However, the doctor scheduled me to get both eye lenses changed.  I figured I’d cancel the left eye being operated on as soon as I got the right one done.  Well, little did I know how bad the left eye was until I got my new lens. The right lens was so amazingly clear that I wanted to march right back into the clinic and get the left one done immediately.  I was astounded at the clarity of the new lens!  WOW!  I was thrilled! 

       As I thought about this, I thought of the scriptures in 1 Cor. 13:12-13; “We don’t yet see things clearly. We’re squinting in a fog, peering through a mist. But it won’t be long before the weather clears and the sun shines bright! We’ll see it all then, see it all as clearly as God sees us, knowing him directly just as he knows us! But for right now, until that completeness, we have three things to do to lead us toward that consummation: Trust steadily in God, hope unswervingly, love extravagantly. And the best of the three is love”.

       I must relate this to our Christian life.  We may think we are seeing with 20/20 vision when it comes to the truth of God’s Word or how we are living our lives, but it sometimes takes someone to ‘wipe’ off the lens of our minds for us to see clearly.  I know I have learned so much in the years I have been a Christian.  I thought I was so knowledgeable when I was first saved, however my lens was very foggy!    I am grateful for God’s patience and longsuffering as He has taught me and conformed me with love and grace.

       How has God ‘cleared’ my vision?  His Holy Spirit has illumined His Word as I’ve studied and read His truths.  Wonderful books by godly authors have helped me, greatly.  Prayer has been a staple in my growth.  As God speaks to me through His Word, I talk to Him like I would talk to my husband or children or friends, and He makes His truths clear.  In Hebrews chapter 4 He tells us to come (draw near) boldly (with confidence) to His throne and we will find mercy and help when we need it.   I pour my heart out to Him.  I praise Him and thank Him continually. Difficult times and failures have helped clear the lens of my heart and mind.  We can all ask God to reveal Himself more clearly.  We sometimes have a distorted view of who God is, but He can make us aware of our ways that are contrary to His ways.  As we mature in the faith, God cleans the lens of ‘our’ head knowledge and ‘our’ God image that is contrary to His truth so that we can get gut level honest about our distorted vision.  My prayer is Psalm 119:18, “Open my eyes, that I may behold wondrous things out of your law.”

       “No one after lighting a lamp puts it in a cellar or under a basket, but on a stand, so that those who enter may see the light. Your eye is the lamp of your body. When your eye is healthy, your whole body is full of light, but when it is bad, your body is full of darkness. Therefore be careful lest the light in you be darkness. If then your whole body is full of light, having no part dark, it will be wholly bright, as when a lamp with its rays gives you light.” Luke 11:33-36
       In the book of 2 Kings chapter 6, the Syrians were coming against Israel. Elisha’s servant woke up early one morning and warned Elisha, the man of God, that the Syrians had surrounded them.  The servant was very afraid, but Elisha said to the servant, “Do not be afraid, for those who are with us are more than those who are with them.” Then Elisha prayed and said, “O LORD, please open his eyes that he may see.” So the LORD opened the eyes of the young man, and he saw, and behold, the mountain was full of horses and chariots of fire all around Elisha.”  The servant wasn’t seeing clearly! He needed his lenses to be wiped clean so that He could see His God was in charge.  This is what we need to see.  God is sovereign!  He’s in charge!  He’s loves us and is faithful to His own. 

       My dear friend, ask God to open the eyes of your heart to see His lovingkindness and patience.  Ask Him to teach you truth.  Remember, we can draw near to Him and He will show mercy and grace. 

Leave a comment