THINKING

I wish I could put into words what my mind thinks when I wake up during the night. The words just flow when I’m just thinking, then when I start to write when I wake up it seems those words are stuck somewhere in my mind and won’t come forth.  What do I think about?  I think of God’s goodness and His amazing grace, His longsuffering and patience with me and His abundant blessings.  I think of Jesus meeting with His disciples and enjoying His time with them…laughing, joking, eating and traveling, sitting around and enjoying each other’s company. I think of His time in the garden when the angel of the Lord came and ministered to Him as He prayed asking the Father to take ‘this cup’ from Him.  But He was willing to take my place.  I really cannot comprehend in my finite mind what that was like.  

         I think of God’s mercy.  As I was reading Spurgeon’s Evening and Morning Devotion he talks about God’s mercy; His mercy is tender…it’s gentle and loving and it heals the broken hearted and binds up our wounds. His mercy is rich as it lifts the drooping spirits and applies healing ointment to our bleeding wounds.  His mercy is manifold.  There is no single mercy.  His mercy is abounding.  Millions receive it and it’s never exhausted but it is as fresh and full as ever.  His mercy is unfailing.  It never leaves us.  It will be with us in temptation to keep us from yielding.  It gives light and life to our countenance and dying joy to our souls when earthly comfort is ebbing. (August 17)

         I think about Peter sitting around the fire the night Jesus was taken by soldiers.  I think about what Peter felt when Jesus turned and looked at him after he denied Him the third time.  What did that look say to Peter?  Was it a look of condemnation?  I don’t think so.  Was it a look of ‘I told you so’?  I don’t think so.  Was it a look of understanding?  I believe it was. But, that’s what I think…..as I’m thinking!  After all, when Jesus appeared to His disciples after the resurrection, He told Peter to ‘feed His sheep’.  He wanted Peter to know He was forgiven and would be used greatly for His kingdom.

         I think about where I would be if it had not been for Jesus saving me and changing my life and directing me through all these years.  Where would I be?  Who would I be?  What would I be doing?  These are not things I think about a lot, because it is impossible to know who, what, where and when since it’s not what happened in my life.  My life is choices that I’ve made through the years with God guiding me the whole time…even though I didn’t know it. “The steps of a man are established by the LORD, when he delights in his way; though he fall, he shall not be cast headlong, for the LORD upholds his hand.” Psalm 37:23-24. I am so very grateful for God’s gracious care for me.  “The heart of man plans his way, but the LORD establishes his steps.” Proverb 16:9. Thank you, thank you, thank you, Jesus for establishing my steps!

         I also think about the many, many times God has rescued me from me!  He kept me from destroying my life.  He protected me from danger so many times.  Some things I know where and when He protected me, and some I will never know.   e HeH   HeHe “The LORD will keep you from all evil; he will keep your life. The LORD will keep your going out and your coming in from this time forth and forevermore.” Psalm 121:7-7. Can I get an Amen!!!!

Oh, if only I could really express all my thoughts about God’s wonderful grace, mercy, love, patience, longsuffering and kindness.  Philippians chapter reminds us what to think on;

……whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is just, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is commendable, if there is any excellence, if there is anything worthy of praise, think about these things.” Philippians 4:8

Leave a comment