LIFE AND DEATH ARE IN GOD’S HAND

Paul and I were praying with a young couple this morning and our prayer was for healing for their baby.  He has already been through two chemo treatments, lost his hair and was unable to walk.  Then, he got a clear report….until the next MRI.  The doctors say even with more treatment, he has very little chance of surviving.  What to do next?   Paul and I prayed with them and cried with them asking God for a miracle; “Lord, you are able.  Your said ask and keep asking…we are pleading for this baby’s life.  You healed a cripple man who had never walked. He got up jumping and praising You, surely you can heal this baby.  Yes, You can, but is it Your will?  We want to believe it’s Your will.” 

      I sometimes doubt, because I think of how we prayed so much for our son-in-law, and yet God said, “I’m bring him HOME.”  Is it our lack of faith?  Was it Mark’s lack of faith.  I don’t believe it was up to us because God said our days are numbered on this earth (Psalm 139:16).

I do believe there’s a gift of healing (1 Cor. 12).   So, I ask, where are the healers?  I know ultimately God is the Healer, but He gave gifts to men, and one is for healing. Are we afraid to operate in this gift?  Are we afraid of failure?  Since God didn’t heal someone we prayed for do we just give up? So many questions.

 I cry to the Lord like the father whose son was healed in Mark chapter 9..”I believe, help my unbelief.”   So, we will pray until God answers our prayer for healing or until He takes him HOME.

Leave a comment