WALKING IN TRUTH

      When Paul and I purchased our property in Midfield, Texas to build Restoration Ranch, there was an old house on the front of the property.  We had this house torn down and burned and buried so that we could start on a clean foundation.  The old house had traverse windows that aren’t found in new homes, today.  I wanted to keep a few of these to give to our children.  I wasn’t sure what I was going to do with them, but I knew I wanted something painted on them as a reminder of what God had provided for us with this property. I wasn’t sure how long we would live on this piece of land, so I wanted a keepsake.  One of my favorite scriptures is found in 3 John 1:4; “I have no greater joy than to know that my children walk in truth.”  So, I had a friend paint this scripture, along with a vine (Jesus is the Vine), on each of the windows.  These windows and the paintings are beautiful memories of the ranch and the truth of God’s word. 

As I was reading my devotion this morning (New Morning Mercies, April 6), Ephesians 6:10-20 was written to remind me of this truth; verses 13-14…” Wherefore take unto you the whole armour of God, that ye may be able to withstand in the evil day, and having done all, to stand. Stand therefore, having your loins girt about with truth…:”  in other words, fasten on the belt of truth, which is God’s word.  If we are going to stand against the enemy, we must have on the armour of God, and this is just one piece of the armour we must have. 

I want my children, grandchildren, and great grandchildren to always remember God’s truth.  The world has a way of deceiving us, so we must be properly armed for the battle.  Yes, we are in a battle.  When we got saved, we joined God’s Army.  So, we are soldiers!  Paul tells us in 1 Timothy that we must fight the good fight of faith. This isn’t a suggestion but a command…a declaration to lay hold on eternal life.

      Over and over, we are reminded in God’s Word that we are in a battle.  So, to fight this battle, we must know truth!  John 17:17 is Jesus’ prayer for us; “Sanctify them through thy truth: thy word is truth.” 

      Take time to read Psalm 119.  It will encourage you to remember God’s truth, laws, statutes, testimonies, precepts, commandments, ways, rules, promise, and word.  This will help us fight every battle that God allows to come in our lives.

Leave a comment