CHRISTMAS SEASON 2022

December is a busy month!  Why???  Well, as for our family, we are getting together with as many children, grandchildren, and great grandchildren as we can.  We are also going to parties and having friends over for dinner or a visit.  We are also shopping and wrapping presents, decorating and baking.  (Yes, my kitchen smells so wonderful). December is also the time to celebrate the birth of our wonderful Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ. 

When I was a young girl, I thought about Christmas as presents, candy, fruits, and nuts.  I thought about the Christmas stockings and the parties we had at church.  In my mind I thought of the birth of Jesus being in a nice barn like we have today….no stinking smells or animals.  I thought about a nice crib with sheets and blankets.  Even though I had heard the Christmas story many times, I still had my own concept of His birth. 

       As I’ve grown older and read the Christmas story over and over, I realize my concept is so far from my young girl thoughts.  Mary wasn’t married to Joseph, yet.  I’m sure there were ‘whispers’ from those who knew them.  After all, she is going to have a child.  Did anyone really believe she was a virgin?  I doubt it.  Even Joseph must have had some doubts even after the angel appeared to him in a dream.  “Then Joseph her husband, being a just man, and not willing to make her a public example, was minded to put her away privily. But while he thought on these things, behold, the angel of the Lord appeared unto him in a dream, saying, Joseph, thou son of David, fear not to take unto thee Mary thy wife: for that which is conceived in her is of the Holy Ghost. And she shall bring forth a son, and thou shalt call his name JESUS: for he shall save his people from their sins.” (Matthew 1)

People back then were no different than people today.  I’m sure there were some who counted the months!  Gossips were alive and well in Bible days.  If Joseph had to ‘think on these things’, I’m sure there were others who ‘thought’ the same thing as Joseph when he heard she was pregnant. And, how difficult it must have been for Mary to tell Joseph she was pregnant….and by The Holy Spirit!  

To say I am grateful for Jesus seems inadequate, but there seems to be no words that truly express my joy and gladness for His birth, death and resurrection!  Sometimes words are empty and meaningless, so I will live my life to glorify Him.  This will be my way of saying thank you, Jesus, for your gift of salvation.  Thank you for Your love that is unconditional.  So, I don’t say happy holidays.  I say MERRY CHRISTMAS, because Jesus is the reason for the season. 

Leave a comment