GOD’S PROTECTION

“But I will sing of your strength;

I will sing aloud of your steadfast love in the morning.

For you have been to me a fortress

and a refuge in the day of my distress.” Psalm 59:16

I couldn’t sleep last night for thinking about all the times God has protected me through the years.  I started to recall different times, that I’m aware of, and I know there were many times His protecting hand was there even when I didn’t know it.

       When I was three years old, I crawled out the window of a car that my mother’s friend was driving.  I wanted a ball that bounced out of the car.  Not sure how she ran over me, but evidently, she did, so I was taken to the hospital.  I really don’t remember any of it, but without a doubt, God protected me.

       I can remember, as a very young girl, being at the river with my parents and aunt.  I started running down a hill toward the river, but my aunt caught me before I reached the water. 

       I spent many days on a dairy farm in Realitos, Texas.  The boys on the farm were more like brothers to me.  I was such a tomboy that I did what they did.  We would spend hours in the woods, walking down the railroad tracks and climbing down the gravel pit, which I thought was the Grand Canyon.  Where were our parents??  Rattle snakes are numerous in that part of the country, but we never got bitten by one.  We all ran around barefoot, so it’s amazing that we have feet today!

       In high school I did some foolish things, so I know my Guardian Angel was on high alert, protecting, guiding (even when I was unaware), and shielding me from danger.  Hebrew 1:14 says, “Are they not all ministering spirits, sent forth to minister for them who shall be heirs of salvation?”

       I could go on and on through all my years, but I would need many more pages, so I will just say, “God has been my protector and refuge all my life.”

       Psalm 121 has been one of my favorite chapters in the Bible.  God is my help.  He doesn’t slumber or sleep.  He’s always aware of His children’s needs.  He’s our Protector. He’s our Keeper.  He’s our Savior.  He’s our Defender. 

       My dear friend, stop and think about the times God has protected you, kept you from making stupid choices, and even protected you when you did make those choices.  I am forever grateful for His lovingkindness, patience, longsuffering and gentleness to me, His child. 

Leave a comment