A BLESSED LIFE

      As I was reading through the devotional book our family wrote a few years ago, I wasn’t sure which ones I had written until I started reading. I figured I’d make these some of these writings my blog;

      As you read the words, “Blessed is the man (woman)”…Psalm 1:1 do you truly feel that you are a blessed person?  Those few words can be some of the most comforting or disturbing words you’ll ever read.  Certainly, anyone who has trusted Jesus Christ as their Lord and Savior has already been blessed.  No matter what our past, our sins have been forgiven and our future is secure for all eternity.  So, do you feel like a blessed person today?  I think for the Believer the sense of being blessed experientially comes from the next three phrases; The blessed man…walks not in the counsel of the ungodly; doesn’t stand in the way of sinners (literally is not a troublemaker); sits not in the seat of the scornful (does not judge others).  So, instead of ungodly counsel or being a troublemaker and judging others, we delight in loving God and loving and serving others.  What a contrast in the way so many of God’s people live their life and whether they have a sense of being blessed.

      Today would be a great day for you to start believing that God has already blessed you in heavenly places in Christ Jesus.  But those blessings in everyday life are contingent upon your willingness not to walk, stand or sit in ungodly ways but instead love God and serve others.

      There’s an old hymn which says.

Lord, help me live from day to day
In such a self-forgetful way
That even when I kneel to pray
My prayer shall be for others.

 Others Lord, yes others.

Let this my motto be. 

Help me to live for others.

 that I might live like Thee.

      Do others see Christ in you? 

Leave a comment