OUR HEARTS, GOD’S DWELLING PLACE

“That Christ may dwell in your hearts by faith..Eph. 3:17

      The God of creation wants to live His life in and through us. I remember when our daughter, Gretchen Ann, was six years of age and asked me a question at the dinner table.  We were having Paul’s favorite Yankee meal, beans and franks.  She asked, “Mom, where does Jesus live?”  I said, “He lives in our heart.”   She thought for a moment, then she stuck a hot dog on her fork and said, “Here comes a frank, Jesus.”  I believe this is the faith of a little child.  They believe He’s that real.  He’s right here!  He’s really living in us!

      God’s Word says, “ And without faith it is impossible to please him, for whoever would draw near to God must believe that he exists and that he rewards those who seek him.” Heb. 11:6) “Truly, I say to you, whoever does not receive the kingdom of God like a child shall not enter it.” Mark 10:15

      Even though I told Gretchen that Jesus lives in our heart, a few years passed before I really knew this myself.  I thought of Him as way off somewhere beyond the blue.  I didn’t understand or believe He was living in me.  The God of creation living in me?? What a revelation! What a joy! God set up His kingdom in the like of me!  Just to think He knew me before I was formed.  He loved me from before the foundation of the world is beyond my comprehension.  He paid the price for my sins.  He is making intercession for me right now before the throne of Grace.  All I can say is..”Hallelujah.”

He lives, He lives, Christ Jesus lives today.

He walks with me and talks with me

Along life’s narrow way.

He lives, He lives, salvation to impart.

You ask me how I know He lives,

He lives within my heart.

(Albert H Ackley 18878-1960)

Leave a comment